69th Cannes Film Festival Winners

 Features  Comments Off on 69th Cannes Film Festival Winners
May 232016


Twenty one films competed for the Palme d’Or at this year’s Cannes Film Festival, making it one of the biggest, and, according to many critics who attended the festival, one of the strongest fields in recent history. Overnight the Jury, presided by George Miller (director of Mad Max: Fury Road), selected the award winners.

From a star-studded lineup of films it was Maren Ade’s Toni Erdmann that received consistent raves from critics and became the clear favourite for this year’s Palme. Jim Jarmusch’s Paterson, Jeff Nichols’ Loving, Kleber Mendonca Filho’s Aquarius, and Christian Mungiu’ The Graduation all received very positive reactions. Paul Verhoeven’s Elle caused a storm on the second-to-last day, drawing many speculations that it would win and/or star Isabelle Huppert would win her third Best Actress award. Andrea Arnold’s American Honey was more divisive, but was also believed to be a very strong contender. Of course, there were films that copped it from the Croisette crowds. Olivier Assayas’ Personal Shopper, Nicolas Winding Refn The Neon Demon, Xavier Dolan’s It’s Only the End of the World and Sean Penn’s The Last Face, were aggressively booed, with the latter pair widely regarded as two of the worst to screen in the competition. There was barely a whisper for the latest Dardenne Bros film The Unknown Girl, and subdued response to Pedro Almodovar’s Julietta. 

But, various Jury Grids yielded different results, and amongst all of the online chatter it became impossible to predict just who would win this year. The Cannes Jury selections were surprising, to say the least. All we know is that we’re excited about all of these films, and hope to have the opportunity to see them all at some point this year.

Here is a list of all of the winners:

Palme d’or

I, Daniel Blake, directed by Ken Loach

Grand Prix

Juste La Fin Du Monde (It’s Only the End of the World), directed by Xavier Dolan

Jury Prize 

American Honey, directed by Andrea Arnold

Best Director (tie)

Christian Mungiu, Bacalaureat (Graduation)

Olivier Assayas, Personal Shopper

Best Screenplay 

Asghar Farhadi, Forushande (The Salesman)

Best Performance by an Actress 

Jaclyn JOSE in Ma’ Rosa, directed by Brillante Mendoza

Best Performance by an Actor

Shahab Hosseini inForushande (The Salesman), directed by Asghar Farhadi

The Jury of the CST also awarded the Vulcan Award of the Technical Artist to Seong-Hie Ryu, for the artistic direction, with great inspiration, for The Handmaiden by Park Chan-Wook