Dec 092015


The 5th Annual Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Awards (the AACTAs) took place in Sydney this evening, with Mad Max: Fury Road taking Best Film and Best Director; and The Dressmaker scooping three of the four acting awards (for Kate Winselt, Judy Davis, & Hugo Weaving), as well as the people’s choice award. The fourth acting award (Best Lead Actor) was won by Michael Caton for Last Cab to Darwin.

It is fitting that Fury Road and The Dressmaker were the big winners. The two films were the highest performing at the Australian Box Office this year and were both critically praised.

At the industry awards held last month, Fury Road took home six awards including Best Visual Effects or Animation, Best Score, and Best Production Design. The Dressmaker picked up Best Costume Design.

AACTA Award For Best Film
The Dressmaker
Holding The Man
Last Cab To Darwin
Mad Max: Fury Road WINNER
Paper Planes

AACTA Award For Best Direction
The Dressmaker – Jocelyn Moorhouse
Holding The Man – Neil Armfield
Last Cab To Darwin – Jeremy Sims
Mad Max: Fury Road – George Miller WINNER

AACTA Award For Best Lead Actor
Patrick Brammall – Ruben Guthrie
Michael Caton – Last Cab To Darwin WINNER
Ryan Corr – Holding The Man
Sullivan Stapleton – Cut Snake

AACTA Award For Best Lead Actress
Roby Butler – Now Add Honey
Ningali Lawford-Wolf – Last Cab To Darwin
Charlize Theron – Mad Max: Fury Road
Kate Winslet – The Dressmaker WINNER

AACTA Award For Best Supporting Actor
Mark Coles Smith – Last Cab To Darwin
Alex Dimitriades – Ruben Guthrie
Anthony LaPaglia – Holding The Man
Hugo Weaving – The Dressmaker WINNER

AACTA Award For Best Supporting Actress
Judy Davis – The Dressmaker WINNER
Emma Hamilton – Last Cab To Darwin
Deborah Mailman – Paper Planes
Sarah Snook – The Dressmaker

AACTA People’s Choice Award for Favourite Australian Film
Mad Max: Fury Road
Last Cab to Darwin
The Dressmaker WINNER
Paper Planes

A full list of all the winners, including the television, documentary, and industry awards, can be viewed at the AACTA website