Jan 062015


The Producer’s Guild of America have announced their ten Best Feature nominees for the 2014 year in cinema.

American Sniper
Producers: Bradley Cooper, Clint Eastwood, Andrew Lazar, Robert Lorenz and Peter Morgan

Producers: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, John Lesher and James W. Skotchdopole

Producers: Richard Linklater and Cathleen Sutherland

Producers: Megan Ellison, Jon Kilik and Bennett Miller

Gone Girl
Producer: Ceán Chaffin

The Grand Budapest Hotel
Producers: Wes Anderson, Scott Rudin, Jeremy Dawson and Steven Rales

The Imitation Game
Producers: Nora Grossman, Ido Ostrowsky and Teddy Schwarzman

Producers: Jennifer Fox and Tony Gilroy

The Theory of Everything
Producers: Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Lisa Bruce and Anthony McCarten

Producers: Jason Blum, Helen Estabrook, David Lancaster

Thoughts on these nominees, plus the nominees for production in documentary and animated films, and the editing guild award nominees (The Eddies) can be found after the jump.

The notable exception here is Selma, heavily favoured to be nominated for Best Picture and Best Director (Ava DuVernay). Others that missed out were Mike Leigh’s Mr Turner, Angelina Jolie’s Unbroken and Paul Thomas Anderson’s Inherent Vice. Traditionally, ‘most’ of the nominees at the Producer’s Guild go on to score a Best Picture nomination, so films like American Sniper, Foxcatcher, Nightcrawler and Whiplash are looking pretty good. That isn’t to say Selma (or Unbroken, though that is looking increasingly unlikely) won’t be a spoiler.

Nightcrawler, in particular, has been edging its way into consideration after long being overlooked. Nominations at the SAG, Golden Globes and Editing Guild have it in good shape. American Sniper has been generating buzz too. It has scored well at the Box Office, Bradley Cooper is being talked about as an outside chance at a Best Actor nomination and it also was nominated by the Editing Guild.

Foxcatcher has been receiving a lot of hot and negative press, with the Mark Schultz tirade against director Bennett Miller, but it still looks to have some support. Whiplash could follow in the footsteps of Sundance hit Beasts of the Southern Wild two years ago, well in contention for nominations for Picture, Original Screenplay, Supporting Actor and Editing.
The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

Big Hero 6
Producer: Roy Conli

The Book of Life
Producers: Brad Booker and Guillermo del Toro

The Boxtrolls
Producers: David Bleiman Ichioka and Travis Knight

How To Train Your Dragon 2
Producer: Bonnie Arnold

The LEGO Movie
Producer: Dan Lin

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures

The Green Prince
Producers: John Battsek, Simon Chinn, Nadav Schirman

Life Itself
Producers: Garrett Basch, Steve James, Zak Piper

Merchants of Doubt
Producers: Robert Kenner, Melissa Robledo

Particle Fever
Producers: David E. Kaplan, Mark A. Levinson, Andrea Miller, Carla Solomon

Producers: Joanna Natasegara, Orlando von Einsiedel

You can find all of the ACE Eddie (Editing Guild) Nominations below:

In the dramatic and comedy categories here, eleven films have been nominated, but perhaps not the eleven most prognosticators expected. Excluded are: Selma, The Theory of Everything and Foxcatcher; with American Sniper, Nightcrawler and Whiplash again bolstering their chances of an Editing nomination (and subsequently a Best Picture nomination) at the upcoming Oscars.

Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic)

American Sniper
Joel Cox & Gary Roach

Sandra Adair

Gone Girl
Kirk Baxter

The Imitation Game
William Goldenberg

John Gilroy

Tom Cross

Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy or Musical)

Douglas Crise and Stephen Mirrione

Guardians of the Galaxy
Fred Raskin, Hughes Winborne and Craig Wood

Into the Woods
Wyatt Smith

Inherent Vice
Leslie Jones

Grand Budapest Hotel
Barney Pilling

Best Edited Animated Feature Film

Big Hero 6
Tim Mertens

The Boxtrolls
Edie Ichioka

The Lego Movie
David Burrows and Chris McKay

Best Edited Documentary Feature Film

Mathilde Bonnefoy

Finding Vivian Maier
Aaron Wickenden

Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me
Elisa Bonora