Jan 302015


It was a big night for Jennifer Kent and The Babadook at Australia’s annual celebration of film and television. The director picked up best director, best original screenplay and shared the best film prize. The ABC reports that Kent said of her win,”I’ve traveled round the world with The Babadook and it’s been an extraordinary journey this last year. But to be here and to have this award from my industry peers in my home country means so much to me.”

The Babadook shared the best film prize with Russell Crowe’s The Water Diviner, which was the most commercially successful local film of 2014. The Lego Movie may be missing from the Academy Awards, but it was recognised by the AACTAs, picking up the award for best visual effects or animation. Sarah Snook and David Gulpilil were the extremely deserving winners of the lead acting categories.
Award for Best Film
The Babadook Kristina Ceyton and Kristian Moliere
The Water Diviner Andrew Mason, Keith Rodger and Troy Lum

Award for Best Direction
The Babadook Jennifer Kent

Award for Best Original Screenplay
The Babadook Jennifer Kent

Award for Best Adapted Screenplay
The Railway Man Frank Cottrell Boyce and Andy Paterson

Award for Best Lead Actor
David Gulpilil Charlie’s Country

Award for Best Lead Actress
Sarah Snook Predestination

Award for Best Supporting Actor
Yilmaz Erdogan The Water Diviner

Award for Best Supporting Actress
Susan Prior The Rover

Award for Best Visual Effects or Animation
The Lego Movie Chris McKay, Amber Naismith, Aidan Sarsfield and Grant Freckelton

Award for Best Feature Length Documentary
Ukraine Is Not A Brothel Kitty Green, Jonathan auf der Heide and Michael Latham

Trailblazer Award
Rose Byrne

The full list of AACTA winners (including the television categories), can be found here.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>