Jan 312014

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Arts held their 3rd annual awards night in Sydney last night, awarding Baz Lurhman’s The Great Gatsby winning all but one of the 14 awards it was nominated for including best picture, best director and best leading actor (DiCaprio). The Rocket was the well-deserved recipient of the best original screenplay award; while Rose Byrne won best leading actress for her 7 minute role in The Turning.

At an earlier ceremony in LA, the AACTA international awards were given out, with Gravity taking out best film.

While Gatsby is certainly worthy of some of its wins (especially costume/production design), this year’s AACTA results are another sign of how out of touch with Australian film this organisation is. For the 3 years since the awards started (they were previously the AFI awards), the awards have been dominated by the “Australian” film which was the biggest box office success that year. This is wrong. To put it simply, box office success is not a measure of a film’s quality. Local films typically get smaller releases, they have smaller budgets and they don’t tend to have massive marketing money behind them. To make these smaller films compete alongside the one “Australian blockbuster” each year is never going to be fair. If the organisation wants to hold something more meaningful than an annual giant celebration of the upper echelons (money) of Australian film society, it’s going to have to rethink what “best” really means.

The full list of AACTA winners is after the jump.


Best Film: “The Great Gatsby”

Best Direction: Baz Luhrmann, “The Great Gatsby”

Best Original Screenplay: Kim Mordaunt, “The Rocket”

Best Adapted Screenplay: Baz Luhrmann and Craig Pearce, “The Great Gatsby”

Best Actor: Leonardo DiCaprio, “The Great Gatsby”

Best Actress: Rose Byrne, “The Turning”

Best Supporting Actor: Joel Edgerton, “The Great Gatsby”

Best Supporting Actress: Elizabeth Debicki, “The Great Gatsby”

Best Cinematography: Simon Duggan, “The Great Gatsby”

Best Editing: Matt Villa, Jason Ballantine and Jonathan Redmond, “The Great Gatsby”

Best Sound: Wayne Pashley, Jenny Ward, Fabian Sanjurjo, Steve Maslow, Phil Heywood and Guntis Sics, “The Great Gatsby”

Best Original Score: Craig Armstrong, “The Great Gatsby”

Best Production Design: Catherine Martin, Karen Murphy, Ian Gracie and Beverley Dunn, “The Great Gatsby”

Best Costume Design: Catherine Martin, Silvana Azzi Heras and Kerry Thompson, “The Great Gatsby”

Best Visual Effects: Chris Godfrey, Prue Fletcher, Tony Cole and Andy Brown, “The Great Gatsby”

Raymond Longford Award: Jacki Weaver



Best Film: “Gravity”

Best Direction: Alfonso Cuarón, “Gravity”

Best Screenplay: Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell, “American Hustle”

Best Actor: Chiwetel Ejiofor, “12 Years A Slave”

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine”

Best Supporting Actor: Michael Fassbender, “12 Years a Slave”

Best Supporting Actress: Jennifer Lawrence, “American Hustle”