May 272013

cannes 2013

The Festival de Cannes is over for another year, with French drama Blue is the Warmest Colour (La vie d’Adèle) taking out the Palm d’Or, the festival’s top award. Head of the competition jury, Steven Spielberg announced that the jury was taking the unusual move of recognising not only the director, but also the two young actresses, Adèle Exarchopoulos and Léa Seydoux. The three-hour drama is about a young woman’s awakening, and the two actresses appear in several sex scenes together, one lasting 12 minutes (the end of which was reportedly met with applause at the film’s première at Cannes).

Inside Llewyn Davis, directed by Joel and Ethan Coen, picked up the second most prestigious award, the Grand Prix. The film staring Oscar Isaac received much praise for its screenplay and fantastic performance from Isaac.

Blue is the Warmest Colour has been picked up for Australian distribution by Transmission Films. It will be interesting to see how it fares with the country’s classification board. Inside Llewyn Davis is being distributed in Australia by Roadshow Films. It currently has a 30th Jan 2014 release date in Australia.

Other films which have Australian distribution include Alexander Payne’s Nebraska (Roadshow Films – 26 December 2013), for which Bryce Dern won best actor, and Asghar Farhadi’s The Past (Madman Entertainment), for which Bérénice Bejo won best actress. Expect more to be announced as Cannes deals are finalised and made public.

Full list of 2013 Cannes Film Festival award winners (Official Competition and Un Certain Regard) are after the jump.

Full list of winners

Official Competition

Palme d’Or
Blue Is The Warmest Colour, dir: Abdellatif Kechiche

Grand Prix
Inside Llewyn Davis, dir: Ethan and Joel Coen

Best Director
Amat Escalante, Heli

Jury Prize
Like Father, Like Son, dir: Hirokazu Kore-Eda

Best Screenplay
Zhangke Jia, A Touch Of Sin

Best Actress
Bérénice Bejo, The Past

Best Actor
Bruce Dern, Nebraska

Camera d’Or
Ilo Ilo, dir: Anthony Chen

Short Film
Safe, dir: Byoung-Gon Moon

Un Certain Regard

Prize of Un Certain Regard
The Missing Picture , dir: Rithy Panh

Jury Prize
Omar, dir: Hany Abu-Assad

Directing Prize
Alain Guiraudie, Stranger by the Lake

A Certain Talent Prize
For the ensemble cast of La Jaula De Oro by Diego Quemada-Diez

Avenir Prize (First Feature)
Fruitvale Station, dir: Ryan Coogle


By Sam McCosh