Feb 182013


The last of the big four guild awards, the Writer’s Guild of America Awards have been announced. The guild celebrates excellence in both film and television writing.

Argo continues its strong Oscar push with another guild win, picking up the adapted screenplay award. The film has now won the major  WGA, DGA and PGA awards; as well as the SAG award for best ensemble cast. According to Indiewire, the last film to win the big four guild awards and not win best picture at the Oscars was Apollo 13.

Zero Dark Thirty was awarded original screenplay; while Searching for Sugar Man took home the documentary writing award.

A complete list of the WGA award winners can be found on the WGA website.

Outstanding Achievement in Writing – Adapted Screenplay
Screenplay by Chris Terrio
Based on a selection from The Master of Disguise by Antonio J. Mendez and the Wired Magazine article “The Great Escape” by Joshuah Bearman

Outstanding Achievement in Writing – Original Screenplay
“Zero Dark Thirty”
Written by Mark Boal

Outstanding Achievement in Writing – Documentary Screenplay
“Searching for Sugar Man”
Written by Malik Bendjelloul


By Sam McCosh