Feb 172013


We (Chris & Sam) are proud to announce the winners of the 1st Annual Holy Master Awards. These awards are given to the films, actors and film-makers who in our humble opinion were the best that 2012 bestowed on us. These are the An Online Universe Oscars but with zero glory and no political agenda.

Due to the messy nature of the Australian release schedule, some of the films mentioned are strictly speaking 2011 releases; but for the most part these are all 2012 US releases.

We had fun putting this together, talking about all the great films we had seen over the last 12 months. Sure there were a few disagreements, but that’s half the fun of film after all.

Check out our award winners after the jump. We’d love to hear your thoughts!

Escaping the master

Best Film: The Master
Runner-up: Holy Motors
Best Foreign Language Film: Holy Motors
Runner-up: Monsiuer Lazhar
Best Animated Film: Frankenweenie
Best Comedy Film: Carnage
Best Science-Fiction Film: Looper
Best Action Film: The Grey
Best Australian Film: Wish You Were Here
Best Documentary Film: The Imposter
Runner-up: Searching For Sugar Man


Best Leading Performance (male): Joaquin Phoenix (The Master)
Runner-up: Denis Lavant (Holy Motors), Bradley Cooper (Silver Linings Playbook)
Best Leading Performance (female): Emmanulle Riva (Amour)
Runner-up: Mary Elizabeth Winstead (Smashed), Anna Paquin (Margaret)
Best Supporting Performance (male): Philip Seymour Hoffman (The Master)
Runner-up: Ezra Miller (The Perks of Being a Wallflower),  Robert Di Niro (Silver Linings Playbook)
Best Supporting Performance (female): Felicity Price (Wish You Were Here)
Runner-up: Helen Hunt (The Sessions)
Best Romance/On-screen Chemistry: Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence, (Silver Linings Playbook)


Best Individual Sequence or Scene: “Accordion Interlude” Holy Motors
Runner-up (joint): “Processing” The Master; “School Dance Scene” (Come on Eileen) The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Best Score: The Master
Runner-up: Zero Dark Thirty
Best Soundtrack: Cafe de Flore
Runner-up: This Must Be The Place
Best Director: [tie]: Leos Carax (Holy Motors) & Paul Thomas Anderson (The Master)
Runner-up: Kathryn Bigelow (Zero Dark Thirty)
Best Cinematography: This Must Be The Place
Runner-up: The Master
Best Editing: Argo
Runner-up: Zero Dark Thirty
Best Original Screenplay: The Master
Runner-up: Django Unchained
Best Adapted Screenplay: The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Runner-up: Silver Linings Playbook, Argo
Break-through Film-maker: Stephen Chbosky (The Perks of Being a Wallflower)
Runner-up:Jake Schreider (Robot and Frank)

  One Response to “The 1st Annual Holy Master Awards”

  1. Love it!
    Love the ‘Individual scene’ award especially (I have that on my iPod now!) and that Monsieur Lahzar got some love 🙂