Jan 032013


The nominees for the 24th annual Producers Guild Awards have been announced today ahead of the award ceremony to be held on January 26th. There is an interesting mix of indies and studio blockbusters; and while they are not always on the money, this does give us the first true indication about what could be nominated for an Academy Award.

The nominees in the film categories are listed below.


The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures

Producers: Ben Affleck, George Clooney, Grant Heslov

Beasts of the Southern Wild
Producers: Michael Gottwald, Dan Janvey, Josh Penn

Django Unchained
Producers: Reginald Hudlin, Pilar Savone, Stacey Sher

Les Misérables
Producers: Tim Bevan & Eric Fellner, Debra Hayward, Cameron Mackintosh

Life of Pi
Producers: Ang Lee, Gil Netter, David Womark

Producers:  Kathleen Kennedy, Steven Spielberg

Moonrise Kingdom
Producers: Wes Anderson & Scott Rudin, Jeremy Dawson, Steven Rales

Silver Linings Playbook
Producers: Bruce Cohen, Donna Gigliotti, Jonathan Gordon

Producers: Barbara Broccoli, Michael G. Wilson

Zero Dark Thirty
Producers: Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Megan Ellison


The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

Producer:  Katherine Sarafian

Producers:  Allison Abbate, Tim Burton

Producers:  Travis Knight, Arianne Sutner

Rise of the Guardians
Producers:  Nancy Bernstein, Christina Steinberg

Wreck-It Ralph
Producer:  Clark Spencer


The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures

A People Uncounted
Producers: Marc Swenker, Aaron Yeger

The Gatekeepers
Producers: Estelle Fialon, Philippa Kowarsky, Dror Moreh

The Island President
Producers: Richard Berg, Bonni Cohen

The Other Dream Team
Producers: Marius Markevicius, Jon Weinbach

Searching For Sugar Man
Producers: Malik Bendjelloul, Simon Chinn

By Sam McCosh