Dec 192012

the master

In what might be my favourite list of winners from any awards ceremony thus far this year, the Toronto Film Critics Association just yesterday announced award winners with Best Picture being awarded to The Master (yay), which also won Best Screenplay, Best Director (Both awards going to Paul Thomas Anderson) and Best Supporting Actor (Phillip Seymour Hoffman). Best Actor went to The only other actor this year who was on par with Joaquin Phoenix in The Master and that was Denis Lavant for Holy Motors who played about 700 different characters. Best Actress went to Rachel Weisz for The Deep Blue Sea (no, not the shark film) the Terrance Davies’ post WWII drama, which I agree was also deserving, if not surprising.

Other winners included Gina Gershon for best supporting actress for Killer Joe (Finally, someone recognised!) and Amour for best foreign language film. Runner-ups included current Oscar favourite, Zero Dark Thirty, Frankenweenie, Daniel Day Lewis and Phoenix were both runner-up’s in the acting department and even Cabin in the Woods came as runner up in the ‘Best First Feature’ award. As stated earlier, I believe these to be the most deserving winners of any awards list or organization so far this year, with The Master and Holy Motors both getting the recognition they deserve. The panel, made up of 45 film reviewers working in Toronto in either online print, broadcasting or otherwise. Here’s the full list of winners and runner-ups:

Best Picture: “The Master”
(Runners-up: “Amour,” “Zero Dark Thirty”)

Best Actor: Denis Lavant, “Holy Motors”
(Runners-up: Daniel Day-Lewis, “Lincoln”; Joaquin Phoenix, “The Master”)

Best Actress: Rachel Weisz, “The Deep Blue Sea”
(Runners-up: Jessica Chastain, “Zero Dark Thirty”; Emmanuelle Riva, “Amour”)

Best Supporting Actor: Philip Seymour Hoffman, “The Master”
(Runners-up: Javier Bardem, “Skyfall”; Tommy Lee Jones, “Lincoln”)

Best Supporting Actress: Gina Gershon, “Killer Joe”
(Runners-up: Amy Adams, “The Master”; Ann Dowd, “Compliance”; Anne Hathaway, “Les Miserables”)

Best Director: Paul Thomas Anderson, “The Master”
(Runners-up: Kathryn Bigelow, “Zero Dark Thirty”; Leos Carax, “Holy Motors”)

Best Screenplay: “The Master,” Paul Thomas Anderson
(Runners-up: “Lincoln,” Tony Kushner; Zero Dark Thirty,” Mark Boal)

Best Foreign Language Film: “Amour”
(Runners-up: “Holy Motors,” “Tabu”)

Best Animated Feature: “ParaNorman”
(Runners-up: “Brave,” “Frankenweenie”)

Best Documentary: “Stories We Tell”
(Runners-up: “The Queen of Versailles,” “Searching for Sugar Man”)

Best First Feature: (tie) “Beasts of the Southern Wild,” Benh Zeitlin and “Beyond the Black Rainbow, ”Panos Cosmatos
(Runner-up: “The Cabin in the Woods,” Drew Goddard)

Best Canadian Film: (finalists) “Bestiaire,” Denis Côté; “Goon,” Michael Dowse; “Stories We Tell,” Sarah Polley

By Chris Elena