Dec 032012


The nominees for the 2nd annual Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts Awards (the Australian equivalent of the Oscars) have been announced in Sydney. The awards recognise the achievements in Australian TV and Film over the previous 12 months.

Leading the pack was box office success The Sapphires with 12 nominations, including best film, best director, and acting nominations for Deborah Mailman, Jessica Mauboy and Chris O’Dowd. Burning Man received 10 nominations; while Lore (Australia’s entry for consideration for the Best Foreign Language film Oscar), Wish You Were Here, and Mental all received 8 nominations.

While I didn’t love Burning Man, I was happy to see Martin Connor receive a nomination for the fantastic editing. Wish You Were Here was my favourite Australian film this year, so I was extremely pleased to see it pick up multiple nominations in both the acting and technical departments. The nominations for Mental baffle me a little, but then again I just didn’t get that film at all.

The full list of nominees in the feature film categories are listed after the jump.

Best film

Burning Man – Andy Paterson, Jonathan Teplitzky
Lore – Karsten Stöter, Liz Watts, Paul Welsh, Benny Drechsel
The Sapphires – Rosemary Blight, Kylie du Fresne
Wish You Were Here – Angie Fielder

Best direction
Burning Man – Jonathan Teplitzky
Lore – Cate Shortland
The Sapphires – Wayne Blair
Wish You Were Here – Kieran Darcy-Smith

Best original screenplay
Burning Man – Jonathan Teplitzky
Mental – PJ Hogan
Not Suitable For Children – Michael Lucas
Wish You Were Here – Kieran Darcy-Smith, Felicity Price

Best adapted screenplay
Lore – Cate Shortland, Robin Mukherjee
The Sapphires – Keith Thompson, Tony Briggs

Best cinematography
Burning Man – Garry Phillips
Lore – Adam Arkapaw
The Sapphires – Warwick Thornton
Wish You Were Here – Jules O’Loughlin

Best editing
Burning Man – Martin Connor
The Sapphires – Dany Cooper
Wish You Were Here – Jason Ballantine
X – Cindy Clarkson

Best sound
Burning Man – David Lee, Andrew Plain, Gethin Creagh
Lore – Sam Petty, Michael Busch, Robert Mackenzie, Antony Gray, Yulia Akerholt, Brooke Trezise
The Sapphires – Andrew Plain, Bry Jones, Pete Smith, Ben Osmo, John Simpson
Swerve – Pete Smith, John Simpson, Martyn Zub, Des Kenneally

Best original music score
33 POSTCARDS – Antony Partos
A Few Best Men – Guy Gross
Mental – Michael Yezerski
Not Suitable For Children – Matteo Zingales, Jono Ma

Best production design
Burning Man – Steven Jones-Evans
Killer Elite – Michelle McGahey
Lore – Silke Fischer
The Sapphires – Melinda Doring

Best costume design
Burning Man – Lizzy Gardiner
Lore – Stefanie Bieker
Mental – Tim Chappel
The Sapphires – Tess Schofield

Best lead actor
Joel Edgerton – Wish You Were Here
Matthew Goode – Burning Man
Chris O’Dowd – The Sapphires
Guy Pearce – 33 POSTCARDS

Best lead actress
Toni Collette – Mental
Deborah Mailman – The Sapphires
Felicity Price – Wish You Were Here
Sarah Snook – Not Suitable For Children

Best supporting actor
Ryan Corr – Not Suitable For Children
Liev Schreiber – Mental
Antony Starr – Wish You Were Here
Gary Waddell – The King Is Dead!

Best supporting actress
Essie Davis – Burning Man
Rebecca Gibney – Mental
Deborah Mailman – Mental
Jessica Mauboy – The Sapphires

Best young actor
Brenna Harding – Puberty Blues – Network Ten
Ed Oxenbould – Julian
Saskia Rosendahl – Lore
Lily Sullivan – Mental

Best visual effects
Iron Sky – Samuli Torssonen, Jussi Lehtiniemi, Juuso Kaari, Kelly Myers
Killer Elite – Ineke Majoor, Julian Dimsey
The Sapphires – James Rogers
Utopia Girls – How Women Won The Vote – Kylie Robertson, Rebecca Stegh, Monica Monin – ABC1

Raymond Longford Award
Al Clark

For the documentary, short film and television nominees, please visit the official AACTA website. The winners will be announced at a star-studded event in late January 2013.